Celtic Rugby Disiciplinary Appeal Commitee

An independent Celtic Rugby Disciplinary Appeal Committee met in London on Tuesday, 7 September to consider an appeal by Ospreys against the four point penalty and £100,000 fine imposed on them by an independent Disciplinary Panel in May 2010 for breaching Tournament Rules and committing Misconduct.

Edwin Glasgow QC chaired the three-man Appeal Committee which also comprised Rob Flockhart (SRU) and David Martin (IRFU).

The Appeal Committee reached the following decision:

- it upheld the £100,000 fine imposed on the Ospreys
- it suspended the four points deduction for two years (meaning that four points will be restored to the Ospreys’ Magners League total this season)
- it made an order for costs in favour of Celtic Rugby.

The Appeal Committee’s decision is final and there is no further right of appeal for either party.

There will be no further comment on this matter from Ospreys Rugby

An independent Disciplinary Panel, chaired by Professor Lorne Crear (SRU)) and completed by Roger Morris (WRU) and George Spotswood (IRFU), had heard the charges brought by Celtic Rugby in May. The independent Disciplinary Panel had found that Ospreys had acted in breach of the Tournament Rules and were guilty of an act of misconduct by failing to fulfil a rescheduled Magners League fixture with Ulster at Ravenhill in March 2010. The game was eventually staged on 13 April.