Bowe awarded 2010 RBS Player of the

Ospreys winger Tommy Bowe has today been announced as the official RBS Player of the Championship for the 2010 RBS 6 Nations.

On receiving the trophy, Tommy commented:

‘It has been a Championship of mixed emotions for the Irish team but to be named the RBS Player of the Championship is a fantastic way to end what has been an exciting year for the RBS 6 Nations. The Tournament is always enjoyable and fantastic for rugby fans across Europe with some sensational, competitive rugby produced year after year. To be voted RBS Player of the Championship by the fans is a huge compliment and I thank them for taking the time to vote.’

The 2010 RBS Player of the Championship was decided as a result of a public vote, hosted on A panel of former internationals from all six nations submitted their top three nominations, from which the shortlist of six nominees was compiled. Panellists included BBC Sport pundits Keith Wood, Raphaël Ibañez and Jonathan Davies, RBS RugbyForce supporters Andy Nicol, Ieuan Evans and Jason Leonard, as well as former RBS Ambassador Alessandro Moscardi.
Tommy Bowe ensured that the RBS 6 Nations Player of the Championship Award stayed in Ireland with over 50% of the votes going his way - last year’s winner Brian O’Driscoll received nearly 30% of the votes cast. The remaining votes were dominated by RBS 6 Nations Champions France with Imanol Harinordoquy receiving 20.9% and Morgan Parra with 11.5% of the votes.

RBS Player of the Championship – previous winners

2009 – Brian O’Driscoll

2008 – Shane Williams

2007 – Brian O’Driscoll

2006 – Brian O’Driscoll