AWJ wins Welsh Rugby Writers Award

Ospreys captain Alun Wyn Jones named Welsh Rugby Writers’ Association player-of-the-year.

Just days after his team-mate Dan Biggar picked up the PRO12 player-of-the-year award, it is the turn of the skipper to receive the accolades after finishing just ahead of Biggar in the voting with another Osprey, Richard Hibbard, coming third.

Alun Wyn follows former Ospreys such as Shane Williams, James Hook and Duncan Jones in taking the prestigious award. He will collect his award at the 40th annual Lloyd Lewis dinner,sponsored by Regional Rugby Wales, at Cardiff Arms Park on Thursday, September 4.

Other winners are:

Owen Williams (Leicester Tigers) - Most Promising Player

Geraint Walsh (Pontypridd) - Best Principality Premiership Player