Keira Bevan

9 Ospreys Women in International action

Wales Women head coach Ioan Cunningham has named an experienced side to face Japan on Sunday with 9 Ospreys Women in the mix (Cardiff Arms Park, 5pm).

Scrum-half Keira Bevan partners regional teammate Elinor Snowsill at half back in her first international appearance since facing England in March 2020. Kerin Lake lines up in the centre with Courtney Keight on the wing. Natalia John and Gwen Crabb from the second-row with Siwan Lillicrap leading the side as Captain. 

Off the bench Carys Phillips returns to the International stage alongside Ospreys tighthead Cara Hope. 

Cunningham said, “As coaches we had a tough selection process, with competition for places very high. The whole squad performed well against the Black Ferns but we feel this group will give us the best opportunity to get a good performance and result. We also want to see some combinations especially with Richard Whiffin and I new in our roles.

“Kat (Evans) fully deserves her starting berth. She has a very high work rate and brings added physicality to the pack. Apart from Kat, we have a fairly experienced spine of the team with a number of leaders who are gaining experience on and off the field. Elinor and Keira are playing well together for Bristol and we are excited with the options the back three will bring. We have flexibility in our options in the back five with Georgia and Siwan able to cover second row and two back row players on the bench.

“Our priority is to ensure we do the basics right, and then we can look to get the ball out wide to play some attacking rugby.

“We are all looking forward to welcoming a crowd back to the Arms Park and produce a performance to shout about.”


Tickets for the game are available via

Wales Women v Japan:

15. Jasmine Joyce

14. Lisa Neumann

13. Hannah Jones

12. Kerin Lake

11. Courtney Keight 

10. Elinor Snowsill

9. Keira Bevan 


1. Caryl Thomas

2. Kat Evans 

3. Donna Rose

4. Natalia John

5. Gwen Crabb

6. Georgia Evans

7. Bethan Lewis

8.Siwan Lillicrap (C)


16. Carys Phillips

17. Cara Hope

18. Cerys Hale

19. Alex Callender

20. Alisha Butchers 

21. Ffion Lewis 

22. Robyn Wilkins

23. Megan Webb