5 young Ospreys named in Wales U20s side

Wales head coach Gareth Williams has named five Ospreys for Friday’s fourth round clash in the U20 Six Nations against Scotland at Meggetland (KO 7.30pm)

Ospreys hooker, Dewi Lake returns to captain the young side, with Dewi Cross and Cai Evans retaining their place in the starting lineup from the side that triumphed against England in the last round.

Harri Morgan and Tiaan Thomas-Wheeler are named on the bench to complete the Ospreys contingent in the side.  

Boosted by the victory against England, Wales go into the match against the bottom placed team knowing a win would set up a potential championship decider against Ireland in the final round of matches, but Williams says his young squad cannot get ahead of themselves.

“There are a number of changes in the squad, and this is a reflection of the competition we have leading towards the World Cup,” he said.

“We are very focussed on the challenge of Scotland. They are a good team who will be excited to be at home and they will pose a real threat to us.

“We’ve been keen to put England behind us despite being proud of the resolve we showed in gaining that result.”


Wales U20 v Scotland, Meggetland Sports Complex, Fri 8th March, KO 7.30pm

15 Ioan Davies (Cardiff Blues)

14 Alex Morgan (Gloucester)

13 Max Llewellyn (Cardiff Blues)

12 Aneurin Owen (Dragons)

11 Dewi Cross (Ospreys)

10 Cai Evans (Ospreys)

9 Dafydd Buckland (Dragons);

1 Kemsley Mathias (Scarlets)

2 Dewi Lake (Ospreys – CAPT)

3 Ben Warren (Cardiff Blues)

4 Teddy Williams (Cardiff Blues)

5 Jac Price (Scarlets)

6 Ellis Thomas (Llanelli)

7 Jac Morgan (Aberavon / Scarlets)

8 Iestyn Rees (Scarlets)



16 Will Griffiths (Dragons) 17 Tom Devine (Dragons) 18 Nick English (Bristol Bears) 19 Ed Scragg (Dragons) 20 Ioan Rhys Davies (Cardiff Blues) 21 Harri Morgan (Ospreys) 22 Sam Costelow (Leicester Tigers) 23 Tiaan Thomas-Wheeler (Ospreys)