Watkin and Beard get U20 starts

Ospreys centre Owen Watkin and lock Adam Beard have been handed starting places for Wales U20 against Scotland on Friday (5.55pm, Gala RFC).

Captain Rory Thornton has been released to play for the Ospreys against Edinburgh, so regional colleague, Beard, takes Thornton’s place in the side with Watkin joining Dafydd Howells in the back line. Newport captain and man-of-the-match against England, Ollie Griffiths has been handed the captain's armband.

Coach co-ordinator Allan Lewis said, "It was a fantastic win over England. The defence was excellent and we really challenged the opposition.

"It gave us a good platform to prepare for this week but we are certainly not underestimating Scotland. They will be bruised after a hard defeat in France, but we know they will be physical and out to prove a point, especially at home.

"Rory (Thornton) had a fantastic game against England and it is a good opportunity now to play Guinness Pro 12 rugby for the Ospreys. The situation also gives another young player a chance to develop and be exposed to this level of international rugby. Adam (Beard) is a big, very athletic lock and has been playing for Aberavon in the Principality Premiership.

"Similarly in the centre, this is a great chance for Owen (Watkin), who is big and skilful and still young enough to play Under 18 international rugby, to see what he can do at this level.”

Wales play at Netherdale, Galashiels at 5.55pm on Friday (13 March), with the match shown live on S4C.

Wales Under 20 v Scotland:

Dafydd Howells (Ospreys); Joshua Adams (Scarlets), Owen Watkin (Ospreys), Garyn Smith (Blues), Barney Nightingale (Dragons); Dan Jones (Scarlets), Tom Williams (Blues); Luke Garrett (Dragons), Liam Belcher (Blues), Dillon Lewis (Blues), Joe Davies (Dragons), Adam Beard (Ospreys), Tom Phillips (Scarlets), Ollie Griffiths (Dragons), Harrison Keddie (Dragons)

Replacements: Torin Myhill (Scarlets), Keagan Bale (Dragons), Leon Brown (Dragons), Rory Bartle (Gloucester), Jordan Viggers (Blues), Kieran Hardy (Scarlets), James Whittingham (Blues), Rhys Williams (Leicester Tigers)