Wales name RWC squad

Seven Ospreys will travel with Wales to the Rugby World Cup in New Zealand next month.

Along with the Scarlets, who also have seven representatives in the squad, the region once again leads the way in terms of supplying players to the national squad.

In the front row, Huw Bennett, Adam Jones, Paul James and Ryan Bevington will all travel, while fellow forwards Ryan and Alun Wyn Jones also make the travelling party. Among the backs Shane Williams, Wales’ record try scorer, is the only Osprey to feature.

Ospreys Chief Operations Officer, Andrew Hore, commented:

“Our congratulations go to the seven players who will represent the Ospreys in the red of Wales in New Zealand, while we commiserate with the unlucky players who have unfortunately just missed out.

“With seven players in the squad we are again leading the way in terms of supplying players to the national squad – and the fact is that when you include our players who have moved on this year, more than a third of the squad have come from Ospreylia.

“With the young talent we have coming through the ranks that will get their chance at the start of the season, our supporters will get to see players who will become not only the future of the Ospreys, but the future of Wales as we remain committed to developing local players.”

Richard Hibbard, Jonathan Thomas, Justin Tipuric and Andrew Bishop all miss out.


Forwards: Gethin Jenkins (Blues), Lloyd Burns (Dragons), Huw Bennett, Ryan Bevington, Adam Jones, Paul James (Ospreys), Ken Owens (Scarlets), Craig Mitchell (Exeter), Bradley Davies, Sam Warburton (Blues, capt), Luke Charteris, Danny Lydiate, Toby Faletau (Dragons), Ryan Jones, Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys), Andy Powell (Sale Sharks).


Backs:Michael Phillips (Bayonne), Lloyd Williams (Blues), Tavis Knoyle (Scarlets), Jamie Roberts (Blues), James Hook (Perpignan), Jonathan Davies, Stephen Jones, Rhys Priestland, Scott Williams (Scarlets), Leigh Halfpenny (Blues), Lee Byrne (Clermont Auvergne), Aled Brew (Dragons), Shane Williams (Ospreys), George North (Scarlets).

Meanwhile, Tommy Bowe has been named in Ireland's squad for the competition but Nikki Walker misses out after picking up a knee injury in action for Scotland at the weekend.