Ultimate Xv

The Ospreys have teamed up with the Evening Post to find the ultimate Ospreys XV - the all-time dream team based on players who have represented clubs within Ospreylia throughout the many golden (and not-so golden) eras of Welsh rugby.

Over the last few weeks we have brought you the choice of three rugby legends from the region - Mervyn Davies, Jonathan Davies and Paul Thorburn - with each selection creating much discussion and debate.

JJ or Alfie on the wing? 'Merv the Swerv' or Richard Moriarty at No. 8? Stuart Evans or Dai Young at tight-head?

The options are endless, and now that the ex-players have had their say, it's your turn to pick your all-time best Ospreys side.

The only criteria is that players selected must have played rugby within the Ospreys region, for one of the club sides or the region itself.

Our panel of judges will study the entries received and the selection that they deem to be the ultimate Ospreys dream-team will win that person VIP hospitality for the first home Magners League fixture of the season against the Scarlets on September 11, together with a pair of season-tickets.

Four other entries will be drawn at random to win a pair of season tickets.

The judges will be former Wales greats John Dawes and Phil Bennett and Evening Post sports editor David Evans.

First capped by Wales against Ireland in 1964, London Welsh centre Dawes was part of the Triple Crown winning team the following year.

He then led Wales to a Grand Slam in 1971 before becoming the first Welshman to captain the British Lions that summer, when they undertook the now legendary tour of New Zealand, running out 2-1 winners.

After retiring as a player, he coached Wales to four Five Nations titles, including two Grand Slams and four successive Triple Crowns. He also led the 1977 Lions as they returned to New Zealand, losing the test series 3-1.

Dawes commented: He commented:

"€œThroughout my career I played with, coached and watched many talented players from around the Ospreys region, so I realise what a difficult task it will be to select a XV from the long list of notable players to come from the region. Whatever side is picked, it would be strong enough to take on any team, from any era, which is an indication of the strength of the region. I"€™m sure that there"€™ll be plenty of discussion about what is the all-time best Ospreys XV, even after the dream team is confirmed."€

Fly-half Bennett helped Wales to five Five Nations crowns during the 1970s, including three Grand Slams.

The Llanelli favourite was the star man of the British Lions record-breaking tour of South Africa in 1974, that saw the team complete the 22-game trip unbeaten, taking the four match test series 3-0, with one drawn. He was captain three years later when the Lions visited New Zealand, under Dawes.

Bennett said: "It is striking the number of first class rugby players to have come out of the region over the years so it certainly won't be easy to narrow it down to just 15. Everybody will have an opinion and I don't think you'll ever get 100 per cent agreement on who should be in or who should be out, but it's great fun trying to settle on a team.

"What is good about it though, is that it has already got people talking, it's stimulating interest in the Ospreys region and further afield."

To help you make your selection, we have listed four players from each position that you may like to consider. However, these are only suggestions and you can choose any player who has played rugby within Ospreylia, be it for one of the clubs or for the region itself.


Roger Blyth (Swansea)

Tony Clement (Swansea)

Paul Thorburn (Neath)

JPR Williams (Bridgend)


Dewi Bebb (Swansea)

Gareth Thomas (Bridgend)

JJ Williams (Bridgend)

Shane Williams (Neath/Ospreys)


Allan Bateman (Maesteg)

Bleddyn Bowen (Swansea)

Steve Fenwick (Bridgend)

Scott Gibbs (Neath/Swansea/Ospreys)

Outside Half

John Bevan (Aberavon/Neath)

Jonathan Davies (Neath)

Malcom Dacey (Swansea)

James Hook (Neath/Ospreys)

Scrum Half

Onllwyn Brace (Aberavon)

Chico Hopkins (Maesteg)

Rob Howley (Bridgend)

Robert Jones (Swansea)


Stuart Evans (Bridgend/Neath/Swansea)

Courtney Meredith (Neath)

Glyn Shaw (Neath)

Dai Young (Swansea)


Billy James (Aberavon/Swansea)

Garin Jenkins (Swansea)

Barry Williams (Neath/Swansea/Ospreys)

Jeff Young (Bridgend)

Second Row

Brent Cockbain (Ospreys)

Gareth Llewellyn (Neath/Swansea/Ospreys)

Allan Martin (Aberavon)

Geoff Wheel (Swansea)



Colin Charvis (Swansea)

Paul Moriarty (Swansea)

Dai Morris (Neath)

Richard Webster (Swansea)

Number Eight

Mervyn Davies (Swansea)

Stuart Davies (Swansea)

Ryan Jones (Ospreys)

Richard Moriarty (Swansea)

You can also vote by emailing mailto:peter@mgbpr.comor send via post to Ospreys Dream Team, Peter Owen, MGB PR, 2 Princess Way, Swansea SA1 3LW. All entries must be received by Tuesday 28th August 2007.