Seven Eyasses get U20 nod again

Wales Under 20 head coach Danny Wilson has kept faith in the side that beat Ireland 17-15 last weekend, with the only change being Carwyn Jones, who was initially selected for the last weekend's opening fixture before failing a last minute fitness test, returning to take his place in the starting line-up, with young Osprey Jack Jones dropping to the bench

That means that there are five Eyasses in the starting line-up - wing Ashley Evans, fly-half Sam Davies, props Nicky Smith and Nicky Thomas, and second row Rhodri Hughes – with Dan Suter once again among the replacements alongside Jones.

Scarlets full back Jordan Williams has returned to the Wales Under 20 squad after injury and takes up a place on the bench.

Wilson said: “We are expecting an unbelievable atmosphere in Clermont Ferrand with reports of over 10,000 tickets sold already. I went there earlier in the season with the Scarlets and have told the players what to expect. It will be like a Heineken Cup game out there, something most of the players would not have experienced before but an experience for them to enjoy and learn a great deal from.

“Consistency is the name of the game at this stage in the tournament. We missed a few attacking opportunities against Ireland last weekend but some of the positives include the strength of character we showed in digging in for the win and our scrum.

“France have a lot of first class experience within their squad and I’m sure they will be determined to put in a polished performance in front of their home crowd. We showed glimpses of what we are capable of on Friday night but we are going to need to demonstrate a mature ability to mix things up between playing a tight game and opening things up when the opportunities arise.

“Jack Jones did very well after being brought into the starting line-up but Carwyn was selected to start and deserves an opportunity this weekend.”

Wales Under 20 v France Under 20 - Sunday 10 February - 2.00pm (1.00pm UK time, S4C)

Dion Jones (Scarlets/ Llanelli); Ashton Hewitt (Dragons / Newport), Cory Allen (Blues / Cardiff), Steffan Hughes (Scarlets / Llanelli), Ashley Evans (Ospreys/ Bridgend); Sam Davies (Ospreys / Swansea), Rhodri Williams (Scarlets/ Llandovery); Nicky Smith (Ospreys / Swansea), Elliot Dee (Bedwas), Nicky Thomas (Ospreys / Swansea), Carwyn Jones (Scarlets/ Carmarthen), Rhodri Hughes (Ospreys/ Swansea), Sion Bennett (Scarlets / Carmarthen), Daniel Thomas (Scarlets / Llanelli), Ellis Jenkins (capt, Blues / Cardiff)?

Replacements: Ethan Lewis (Blues / Cardiff), Gareth Thomas (Scarlets / Carmarthen), Dan Suter (Ospreys / Bridgend), Jack Jones (Ospreys / Rovigo), James Benjamin (Bedwas), Joshua Davies (Dragons / Bedwas), Jordan Williams (Scarlets/ Llanelli), Thomas Pascoe (Blues / Pontypridd)