Rhys Webb wins Rugby Writers’ accolade

Rhys Webb has completed a memorable double, adding to his PRO12 Players’ Player of the Year award by picking up this season’s Welsh Rugby Writers honour.

Webb came out top but it was a close run thing as his half-back, Dan Biggar ran him extremely close.

Just one single vote produced a final decision in favour of the scrum half. Also heavily backed were last year’s winner, Alun Wyn Jones and full back/wing Liam Williams [Scarlets]

Deciding on Most Promising Player was easier. Flanker James Davies [Scarlets] was a clear winner in this category, his nearest rivals being centres Tyler Morgan [Dragons] and Ben John.

Morgan’s consistently strong all-round displays have earned him a place in Wales’ World Cup squad announced by coach Warren Gatland but John’s arrival on the major stage came too late in the season for him to be seriously considered. The turn of Davies - brother of crocked international centre Jonathan - will surely come.

Selecting Best Player in the Premiership is always difficult with so many clubs and players in the mix. In another tight finish, centre three-quarter Dafydd Lockyer [Pontypridd] regained the award he last won in 2012, just beating scrum half Tomos Williams of the same club and back rower Scott Matthews [Cross Keys].

Since 2011, when fly-half Matthew Morgan topped the list playing for Swansea, the Pontypridd club has provided the winner each year, the most recent being lock forward Chris Dicomidis and full back Geraint Walsh.

Trophies will be presented later in the year.