Ospreys team for Boxing Day Derby

The Ospreys team to play the Scarlets in round nine of the Guinness PRO14 at Parc y Scarlets on Thursday 26th December, K.O 5:15pm has been named:

Justin Tipuric leads the side for the West Wales derby against our local rivals, the Scarlets. Young Morgan Morris returns to the starting lineup, wearing the number 8 shirt, with Olly Cracknell shifting to the blindside. An unchanged front five from last weekend sees Nicky Smith, Scott Otten and Ma’afu Fia form the front row and Adam Beard and Bradley Davies partnering in the second. Dewi Lake, Rhys Fawcett and Simon Gardiner provide the front row cover and Marvin Orie and Dan Lydiate reinforce the pack off the bench.

Marty McKenzie starts at fly-half, partnering Aled Davies in the number 9 jersey, with Scott Williams and Kieran Williams forming the centre partnership. Cai Evans and Luke Morgan are joined by Lesley Klim in the back three to complete the starting 15 with Shaun Venter, Luke Price and Tiaan Thomas-Wheeler all named on the bench.


Starting XV:

15. Cai Evans

14. Lesley Klim

13. Kieran Williams

12. Scott Williams

11. Luke Morgan

10. Marty McKenzie

9. Aled Davies


1.Nicky Smith

2. Scott Otten

3. Ma’afu Fia

4. Adam Beard

5. Bradley Davies

6. Olly Cracknell

7. Justin Tipuric ©

8. Morgan Morris


16. Dewi Lake

17. Rhys Fawcett

18. Simon Gardiner

19. Marvin Orie

20. Dan Lydiate

21. Shaun Venter

22. Luke Price

23. Tiaan Thomas-Wheeler  

The following players were unavailable for selection due to injury:

Gareth Anscombe

Harri Morgan

Cory Allen 

James King

Rhys Henry

Ben Glynn

Keelan Giles

Gareth Evans

Tom Botha

Dan Baker

Owen Watkin

Gareth Thomas

Rhodri Jones

George North

Alun Wyn Jones


Forthcoming Fixtures:

Saturday 4th January – 3pm – Dragons v Ospreys, Rodney Parade.

Saturday 11th January – 1pm – Ospreys v Saracens, Liberty Stadium.

Sunday 19th January – 1pm – Munster v Ospreys, Thomond Park.