Ospreys name team for Friday's 20/20

The squad for Friday evening’s charity 20/20 challenge match against Mumbles Cricket Club has been confirmed.

After losing the first ever game between the two teams, the Ospreys are 2-1 up in the series, winning the last two contests in 2011 and 2013, with rain forcing the postponement of the 2012 and 2014 fixtures.

Craig Maloney, whose two sixes in the final over pinched victory in 2013, and Ben John, the six-hitting match winner in 2011, both feature. Hanno Dirksen, who top scored in 2011 with 41 but missed 2013 with injury, is included while Ospreys supporters will get a first glimpse of summer signing Brendon Leonard in action, along with the fit again De Kock Steenkamp.


Ospreys squad:

  1. Craig Maloney
  2. Sam Davies (C)
  3. Ben John
  4. Dan Evans
  5. Hanno Dirksen
  6. Brendon Leonard
  7. De Kock Steenkamp
  8. Olly Cracknell
  9. Matthew Dwyer (WK)
  10. Tom Habberfield
  11. Ross Jones
  12. Rhodri Hughes


The team will be supported on the night by the rest of the squad, who will be in attendance to enoy a fantastic community focused event.

Thousands of pounds have been raised for local good causes since the inaugural clash between the two teams in 2009, with this years beneficiary charity confirmed as Ospreys Wheelchair Rugby.

The two sides will once again go head to head at Mumbles picturesque Marespool Ground at Plunch Lane with the first ball set for 4.00pm, ahead of what is always a relaxed and family friendly environment enjoyed by everyone in attendance.

Admission will be just £3 with free admission for U16's, and facilities for supporters on the night will include a barbecue and bar facility, with proceeds from entry and a collection on the night going to this years nominated charity.

Cricket has been played in the seaside village for over 130 years and the Mumbles Cricket Club was formally established in 1925. Mumbles are ECB Clubmark accredited and play in the top tier South Wales Premier League with three Senior League teams, seven Junior League sides and a thriving Minis section.

In 2008, the club was awarded with the prestigious ECB Clubmark accreditation. The Marespool ground has Minor Counties status after hosting one-day cup fixtures for Wales, and has hosted Glamorgan’s 2nd XI. 

Please note that, for this game, there will be no parking facilities available within the ground itself.