Ospreys name team to face Edinburgh

The Ospreys team to face Edinburgh at BT Murrayfield on Saturday 3rd October, K.O 7:35pm for round one of the Guinness PRO14 has been named.

Justin Tipuric will lead his side for the 51st time on the opening round of the PRO14 on Saturday evening when we travel Scotland to play Edinburgh. He's joined in the back-row with Olly Cracknell and young Morgan Morris. Up front, Nicky Smith, Sam Parry and Tom Botha form the front-row with Adam Beard and Alun Wyn Jones taking the second-row partnership. Dewi Lake, Rhodri Jones, Ma'afu Fia provide the front-row cover with Dan Lydiate and Bradley Davies completing the forward contingent off the bench.

In the backs, Stephen Myler and Rhys Webb form the half-back partnership with youngsters Reuben Morgan-Williams and Josh Thomas covering. Luke Morgan, Mat Protheroe and Dan Evans are named as the back three with Keiran Williams and Owen Watkin partnering in the centre. Tiaan Thomas-Wheeler completes the 23-man squad. 

15. Dan Evans

14. Mat Protheroe

13. Owen Watkin

12. Keiran Williams

11. Luke Morgan

10. Stephen Myler

9. Rhys Webb


1.Nicky Smith

2. Sam Parry

3. Tom Botha

4. Adam Beard

5. Alun Wyn Jones

6. Olly Cracknell

7. Justin Tipuric ©

8. Morgan Morris


16. Dewi Lake

17. Rhodri Jones

18. Ma’afu Fia

19. Bradley Davies

20. Dan Lydiate

21. Reuben Morgan-Williams

22. Josh Thomas

23. Tiaan Thomas-Wheeler


Justin Tipuric will equal Barry Williams’ record of 51 appearances as Captain of the Ospreys on the weekend and sit in joint 2nd on the list.