Ospreys name squad for Magners League opener

The Ospreys have named a 24 man squad ahead of the first Magners League game of the new season, away to Connacht on Friday evening (KO 7pm).

Ryan Jones, newly confirmed as skipper once again is named in the squad, along with two of the region’s British & Irish Lions, Mike Phillips and James Hook. Huw Bennett also returns to the squad after undergoing a minor procedure on his shoulder in the summer.

The fixture is a repeat of last season’s opener, when the Ospreys defeated Connacht 16-3 at the Sportsground, thanks to a try from Nikki Walker and 11 points from the boot of James Hook.

The final 22 will be announced on Thursday at noon.

The squad for Friday’s match has been confirmed as:

Duncan Jones, Paul James, Cai Griffiths, Craig Mitchell, Richard Hibbard, Huw Bennett, Andy Lloyd, Ian Gough, Tom Smith, Jerry Collins, Marty Holah, Filo Tiatia, Ryan Jones

Barry Davies, Gareth Owen, Jonny Vaughton, Nikki Walker, Sonny Parker, Jonathan Spratt, Andrew Bishop, Dan Biggar, James Hook, Tom Isaacs, Mike Phillips