Dan Evans OSPvSAR

Ospreys name side to face Munster

It's the final pool game of the Heineken Champions Cup for the Ospreys, but there's no sign of going out quietly with this team selection. 

Dan Evans, who scored a brace of tries on his return last weekend against Saracens, reclaims the fullback position with Hanno Dirksen and Luke Morgan named on the right and left wing respectively. George North once again pulls on the number 13 jersey, showing his versatility in the backline alongside Scott Williams to form a powerful midfield pairing. Shaun Venter and Luke Price maintain their half-back partnership from last weekend and will be looking to get the back line firing against a dangerous Munster team.

Nicky Smith reclaims the loosehead position this weekend, while Ma'afu Fia packs down at tighthead once more alongside hooker Scott Otten in the front row. Locks Bradley Davies and Alun Wyn Jones are paired up in the second row, offering plenty of power and experience in the engine room. Dan Lydiate takes up his position at blindside with captain Justin Tipuric returning and named on the other side of the scrum. Number eight Dan Baker shifts from the bench into the starting XV this week, having had a successful run out against the reigning European Champions last weekend. 

The bench is a 6/2 split this weekend and is packed with both youth and experience with Sam Parry, Darryl Marfo, and Gheorghe Gajion providing a beefy front row replacement. Crowd favourite Lloyd Ashley covers the second row, while Olly Cracknell and Sam Cross offer mobile and dynamic back row cover. Young scrumhalf Reuben Morgan-Williams is given an opportunity from the bench, as is Cai Evans, who had a solid run of games during an injury crisis earlier in the season.

Ospreys starting XV to face Munster in the Heineken Champions Cup at Thomond Park, on Sunday 19th January.

15. Dan Evans
14. Hanno Dirksen
13. George North
12. Scott Williams
11. Luke Morgan
10. Luke Price
9. Shaun Venter

1.Nicky Smith
2. Scott Otten
3. Ma'afu Fia
4. Bradley Davies
5. Alun Wyn Jones
6. Dan Lydiate
7. Justin Tipuric
8. Dan Baker

16. Sam Parry 
17. Darryl Marfo
18. Gheorghe Gajion
19. Lloyd Ashley
20. Olly Cracknell
21. Sam Cross
22. Reuben Morgan-Williams
23. Cai Evans

The following players were unavailable for selection due to injury
Gareth Anscombe
Harri Morgan
Cory Allen  
James King
Rhys Henry
Ben Glynn
Will Griffiths
Keelan Giles 
Gareth Evans
Tom Botha
Owen Watkin
Gareth Thomas
Rhodri Jones
Kieran Williams 

Upcoming fixtures
Ospreys v Ulster - Saturday 15th February, Liberty Stadium, K.O 5:15pm.
Ospreys v Leinster - Friday 21st February, TBC.