Ospreys learn LV= Cup opponents

The Ospreys will be up against old and new foes in this season's LV= Cup, having been drawn to face Leicester, Cardiff Blues, Wasps and Newcastle.

The 2010/11 Anglo-Welsh campaign begins with a long trip to the north-east to face Newcastle Falcons at the start of November, for what will be the first ever fixture between the two teams.

The following weekend will see the region entertain old rivals Leicester Tigers at the Liberty Stadium, before the competition resumes at the end of January with a short trip up the M4 to face Cardiff Blues. The final pool fixture will see the Ospreys entertain Wasps on the first weekend of February, the first time they have met since the London side visited the Liberty Stadium in August 2005 for the first ever rugby match at the Liberty Stadium.

2009/10 champions Northampton Saints launch their defence at Saracens, who they defeated 31-20 in the semi-final back in March, before going on to beat Gloucester Rugby 30-24 in a five-try thriller at Sixways in the final.
Terry Burwell, LV= Cup Director, said:

“Last season’s tournament produced some great rugby and in the final, one of the stand out games of the season.

 “We are very much looking forward to the second year of a competition structure that not only helps players, coaches and officials develop but also provides more revenue potential for the English Premiership clubs and the Welsh regions.

"We have a committed broadcaster in Sky Sports for the next five years, plus coverage in Wales from S4C, and we would like to thank LV= for supporting the Rugby Football Union, Premiership Rugby, the Welsh Rugby Union and the teams themselves in the delivery of elite knockout rugby.”

David Radford, LV= Group Marketing Director, said: 

“LV= is strongly committed to rugby and our sponsorship of the Anglo-Welsh tournament. We are looking forward to another year of high quality, competitive rugby.” 


The LV= Cup is a 16-team competition involving the 12 Aviva Premiership Rugby clubs and 4 Welsh regions.

Played in four pools of four with three English clubs and one Welsh region in each pool.

English clubs have been allocated to the pools depending on their finish in last season's Premiership.

Welsh regions have been allocated to the pools to avoid repeating fixtures from the Heineken and Amlin Challenge cups where possible.

Teams in Pool 1 play teams in Pool 4 and teams in Pool 2 play teams in Pool 3.

Each team plays four pool matches - two home and two away - with the top team from each pool qualifying for the semi finals.

Pool 1

Leicester Tigers

London Wasps

Newcastle Falcons

Cardiff Blues


Pool 2


London Irish

Leeds Carnegie



Pool 3

Northampton Saints

Gloucester Rugby

Sale Sharks



Pool 4

Bath Rugby


Exeter Chiefs


Round 1 (weekend of November 6, 2010)

Bath Rugby v Cardiff Blues

Exeter Chiefs v London Wasps

Newcastle Falcons v Ospreys

Leicester Tigers v Harlequins

Sale Sharks v London Irish

Saracens v Northampton Saints

Dragons v Gloucester Rugby

Scarlets v Leeds Carnegie


Round 2 (weekend of November 13, 2010)

Harlequins v Newcastle Falcons

London Wasps v Bath Rugby

Cardiff Blues v Exeter Chiefs

Ospreys v Leicester Tigers

Gloucester Rugby v Saracens

Leeds Carnegie v Sale Sharks

Northampton Saints v Dragons

London Irish v Scarlets


Round 3 (weekend of January 29, 2011)

Exeter Chiefs v Leicester Tigers

London Wasps v Harlequins

Bath Rugby v Newcastle Falcons

Cardiff Blues v Ospreys

Leeds Carnegie v Gloucester Rugby

Sale Sharks v Dragons

London Irish v Northampton Saints

Scarlets v Saracens


Round 4 (weekend of February 5, 2011)

Leicester Tigers v Bath Rugby

Newcastle Falcons v Exeter Chiefs

Ospreys v London Wasps

Harlequins v Cardiff Blues

Gloucester Rugby v London Irish

Saracens v Sale Sharks

Northampton Saints v Leeds Carnegie

Dragons v Scarlets


Semi finals (weekend of March 12, 2011, venue TBC)


Final (weekend of March 19, 2011, venue TBC)

If the winner of the competition is an English club, they will qualify for the following season's Heineken Cup.