Ospreys announce team to face Cardiff at Judgement Day

Ospreys have named their squad to face Cardiff at Judgement Day in Round 18 of the BKT URC. The game will take place at the Principality Stadium and is kicking off on Saturday 22nd April at 17:15pm.

Nicky Smith is set to captain the Ospreys in what will be the deciding game in the race for the Welsh Shield. Smith starts at loosehead, with Sam Parry lining up at hooker and Tom Francis completing the front three.

Adam Beard partners with Alun Wyn Jones in the second row. In the back row, Rhys Davies and Dan Lydiate line up at flanker, with Morgan Morris staring at eight.

Rhys Webb lines up at scrum half, in what will be his 200th appearance for the team.

Gareth Anscombe will start at fly-half for the first time since returning from injury, with Owen Williams moving into centre and Keiran Williams completing the partnership in the middle.

In the back three, Michael Collins starts at full back, with George North and Luke Morgan on the wings.

Harri Doel takes a place on the bench and could be in line to make his first appearance for the Ospreys.


Starting XV:

15. Michael Collins

14. George North

13. Keiran Williams

12. Owen Williams

11. Luke Morgan

10. Gareth Anscombe

9. Rhys Webb (200th appearance)



1. Nicky Smith ©

2. Sam Parry

3. Tomas Francis

4. Adam Beard

5. Alun Wyn Jones

6. Rhys Davies

7. Dan Lydiate

8. Morgan Morris




16. Dewi Lake

17. Gareth Thomas

18. Tom Botha

19. Huw Sutton

20. Ethan Roots

21. Reuben Morgan-Williams

22. Harri Doel

23. Max Nagy


Head Coach, Toby Booth, said:

“There’s going to be a lot of emotion in this one, with it being a derby, and a Heineken Champions Cup place on the line. The key to this game, as is always the case with a local derby, is channeling that emotion into drive and determination.”