Nine Ospreys to face Ireland

Alun Wyn Jones will lead Wales against Ireland in Dublin on Saturday, one of nine Ospreys involved in the match day 23.


Exeter Chiefs prop Tomas Francis makes his international debut and George North reach the milestone of his 50th Wales cap. 

Francis, 23, will pack down in an experienced side with Gethin Jenkins and Ken Owens joining him in the front-row. Bradley Davies will pack down alongside captain Jones in the second-row.

British and Irish Lions trio Dan Lydiate, Justin Tipuric and Taulupe Faletau make up the back-row.

Ospreys half-backs Rhys Webb and Dan Biggar continue their partnership with Jamie Roberts and Scott Willams named in the midfield.

George North, Alex Cuthbert and Leigh Halfpenny complete the back line.

“The squad are looking forward to travelling over to Ireland for what is a big warm-up fixture,” said Wales Head Coach Warren Gatland.

“We have trained well over the past few weeks and Saturday is a chance for a lot of players to get their first taste of rugby this campaign.

“We trimmed the squad down in the middle of August and the remaining 38 have worked extremely hard.

“It’s always a great game in Dublin and there is an important factor to this match, with the Rugby World Cup squad announced just a few days later. 

Ospreys trio Scott Baldwin, Paul James and Aaron Jarvis are named as front-row replacements and are joined by Luke Charteris and James King. Gareth Davies, Rhys Priestland and Hallam Amos complete the replacements.




Leigh Halfpenny (Toulon),  Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues), Scott Williams (Scarlets), Jamie Roberts (Harlequins), George North (Northampton Saints), Dan Biggar (Ospreys), Rhys Webb (Ospreys), Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Ken Owens (Scarlets), Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs), Bradley Davies (Wasps), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys, CAPT), Dan Lydiate (Ospreys), Justin Tipuric (Ospreys), Taulupe Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons).


Replacements: Scott Baldwin (Ospreys), Paul James (Ospreys), Aaron Jarvis (Ospreys), Luke Charteris (Racing Metro), James King (Ospreys), Gareth Davies (Scarlets), Rhys Priestland (Scarlets), Hallam Amos (Newport Gwent Dragons).