Alex Cuthbert

8 Ospreys named in Wales team to face South Africa

Head coach Wayne Pivac has named 8 Ospreys in his side to play South Africa at Toyota Stadium, Bloemfontein this weekend (KO 4.05pm BST live on Sky Sports Action with highlights on S4C).

There is one change to the starting line-up that was narrowly defeated in Pretoria last weekend, with Alex Cuthbert coming in on the wing for his 52nd cap.

George North, starting again at centre alongside Nick Tompkins, will equal Stephen Jones’ record as the most-capped Welsh men’s international back of all time with 104 when he takes to the field on Saturday.

Only Alun Wyn Jones (151) – named as a replacement for the second Test this weekend – and defence coach Gethin Jenkins (129) have more Wales caps.

Pivac said: “Alex Cuthbert has been training really well. He’s six foot four, good in the air and runs all day. I think there will be plenty of aerial battles.

“Sam Wainwright has been very excited to join us. From day one he’s been training really well. I know he’s over the moon at his selection in the match day 23 and his family are over here so he’s looking forward to a big day.

“It was a great atmosphere last week and we’re expecting more of the same from the crowd in Bloemfontein this Saturday.”

On the South African side head coach Jacques Nienaber named earlier this week, Pivac added: “It hasn’t changed our preparation at all. It’s going to be fifteen rugby players in green shirts. We’re expecting more of the same. They are a very experienced team no matter what combinations they put out. This side is one to be respected and not taken lightly.”

Wales senior men’s team for the 2nd Test against South Africa (Saturday 9 July, KO 4.05pm BST. Live Sky Sports with highlights on S4C)

15. Liam Williams (Cardiff Rugby – 79 caps)
14. Louis Rees-Zammit (Gloucester Rugby – 17 caps)
13. George North (Ospreys – 103 caps)
12. Nick Tompkins (Saracens – 21 caps)
11. Alex Cuthbert (Ospreys – 51 caps)
10. Dan Biggar (Northampton Saints – 101 caps), captain
9. Kieran Hardy (Scarlets – 12 caps)
1. Gareth Thomas (Ospreys – 11 caps)
2. Ryan Elias (Scarlets – 28 caps)
3. Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Rugby – 39 caps)
4. Will Rowlands (Dragons – 19 caps)
5. Adam Beard (Ospreys – 35 caps)
6. Dan Lydiate (Ospreys – 66 caps)
7. Tommy Reffell (Leicester Tigers – 1 cap)
8. Taulupe Faletau (Cardiff Rugby – 90 caps)

16. Dewi Lake (Ospreys – 6 caps)
17. Wyn Jones (Scarlets – 43 caps)
18. Sam Wainwright (Saracens – uncapped)
19. Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys – 151 caps)
20. Josh Navidi (Cardiff Rugby – 31 caps)
21. Tomos Williams (Cardiff Rugby – 34 caps)
22. Gareth Anscombe (Ospreys – 31 caps)
23. Josh Adams (Cardiff Rugby – 40 caps)