7 Ospreys in Wales squad

Wales have made one change from the side that beat Argentina a fortnight ago to face South Africa at Principality Stadium on Saturday (KO 17:30).

Dan Lydiate comes into the side at blindside flanker in place of Sam Warburton who picked up an injury in training on Tuesday.

There are two further changes amongst the replacements with Taulupe Faleatu returning from injury to take his place on the bench alongside Ospreys fly-half Sam Davies.

Gethin Jenkins, who has led Wales in every match he has started this campaign, will lead the side and lines up in a front row alongside Ken Owens and Tomas Francis.

Luke Charteris and Alun Wyn Jones are named in the second-row with Lydiate lining up alongside Justin Tipuric and Ross Moriarty in the back-row.

Gareth Davies and Dan Biggar are once against named at half-back with Scarlets duo Scott Williams and Jonathan Davies in the midfield.

The same back-three that faced Argentina is named with Leigh Halfpenny at full-back and George North and Liam Williams on the wings.

“We were pleased with the win against Argentina so have gone with virtually the same team for South Africa,” said head coach Rob Howley.

“We’ve made just one change in the back-row. Sam (Warburton) picked up a bit of a stinger injury on Tuesday and isn’t quite ready so Dan comes in.  Dan played particularly well against Japan so we are pleased he gets the opportunity again.

“It’s good to have Taulupe back in the squad, he will add a good impact from the bench.  We are delighted with Sam, he showed individual composure and accuracy last weekend and he gets another opportunity on the bench, as he did against Australia.

“There is the tinge of disappointment in terms of performance against Japan and we want to put that right.  Not only are we looking to win this weekend we want a performance to go with it.”

On the bench, Scott Baldwin, Nicky Smith and Samson Lee make up the front-row replacements. Cory Hill will look to win his third cap this weekend and is joined by Faleatu who completes the forward line-up.  Lloyd Williams, Davies and Jamie Roberts provide the backline cover.


15. Leigh Halfpenny (Toulon) (65 Caps)
14. George North (Northampton Saints) (64 Caps)
13. Jonathan Davies (Scarlets) (58 Caps)
12. Scott Williams (Scarlets) (40 Caps)
11. Liam Williams (Scarlets) (37 Caps)
10. Dan Biggar (Ospreys) (50 Caps)
9. Gareth Davies (Scarlets) (21 Caps)
1. Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues) (128 Caps) (CAPTAIN)
2. Ken Owens (Scarlets) (44 Caps)
3. Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs) (16 Caps)
4. Luke Charteris (Bath Rugby) (70 Caps)
5. Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys) (104 Caps)
6. Dan Lydiate (Ospreys) (59 Caps)
7. Justin Tipuric (Ospreys) (45 Caps)
8. Ross Moriarty (Gloucester) (11 Caps)

16. Scott Baldwin (Ospreys) (27 Caps)
17. Nicky Smith (Ospreys) (6 Caps)
18. Samson Lee (Scarlets) (28 Caps)
19. Cory Hill (Newport Gwent Dragons) (2 Caps)
20. Taulupe Faletau (Bath Rugby (61 Caps)
21. Lloyd Williams (Cardiff Blues) (28 Caps)
22. Sam Davies (Ospreys) (2 Caps)
23. Jamie Roberts (Harlequins) (85 Caps)

The following players have been released back to their respective regions.

Cardiff Blues:
Rhys Gill
Kristian Dacey
Tomos Williams
Gareth Anscombe
Cory Allen
Alex Cuthbert
Rhuan Williams*

Rory Thornton
Dan Baker

Jake Ball

Newport Gwent Dragons:
Harrison Keddie*
Leon Brown*

*Indicates additional players who have been training with the Wales squad